Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Artist unknown

Artist unknown

I grew up with two Bible quotations on love: I Corinthians 13, and I John 4:18. As a child I memorized these passages and quoted them regularly…but I had absolutely no idea what they meant. No one I knew demonstrated this kind of love by the way they lived, so it was quite a nebulous concept to me…some sort of ideal that was never attainable.

If you’re not familiar with these texts, or it’s been a while since you’ve read them, here’s the New English Translation (NET) version of them:

~ I Corinthians 13

If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but I do not have love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophecy, and know all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith so that I can remove mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give away everything I own, and if I give over my body in order to boast, but do not have love, I receive no benefit.

Love is patient, love is kind, it is not envious. Love does not brag, it is not puffed up. It is not rude, it is not self-serving, it is not easily angered or resentful. It is not glad about injustice, but rejoices in the truth. It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Love never ends. But if there are prophecies, they will be set aside; if there are tongues, they will cease; if there is knowledge, it will be set aside. For we know in part, and we prophesy in part, but when what is perfect comes, the partial will be set aside. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. But when I became an adult, I set aside childish ways. For now we see in a mirror indirectly, but then we will see face to face. Now I know in part, but then I will know fully, just as I have been fully known. And now these three remain: faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these is love.

~ I John 4:18

There is no fear in love, but perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears punishment has not been perfected in love.

And yet…despite history demonstrating the improbability, this week I was given a beautiful gift…the gift of no fear…the foundation to love. I honestly hoped that I could experience just a minute of no fear…simply 60 seconds of freedom from all the paralyzing emotions that keep me from doing the things I desire…from the things I love…from the people I love. Just 60 seconds. That’s all I expected. Instead, I got two days…and counting.

It was fairly simple. All I did was ask me, from the future as an Ascended Master, to come to me in the now and model to me what it’s like to experience life without fear. That’s it.

The shift happened fairly quickly…less than 10 minutes for all the fear to dissolve…and less than two minutes for the space to be filled with this amazing, glorious, tender, sweet, compassionate love. And what did I do? I started to worry! I asked, “How will I know if there’s danger present if I don’t experience fear?”

“I’ll show you,” was the response. And she did. I experienced two dangerous situations in the last 48 hours. But rather than experience the familiar fear, I only felt clarity and calm. I knew it was dangerous for I could see the potential outcomes, but my emotions didn’t cloud my mind or vision…all I felt was love and protection and the ability to calmly and rationally choose my response. It was almost as if time stretched, giving me space to observe then select the best option for everyone involved.

Fear is such a helpful process…for those who have no other options. And we do…have other options, I mean. Perfect love…for fear cannot exist in the presence of pure love.

I now know this to be true…for I have lived it.

And you can too.

And so it is.

~Gysela

