Tags

, , , , , , ,

IMG_4695

I’ve been sick for a few days with a really nasty throat thing. I really want to go into a debate about what kind of sick is the worst kind of sick, but I’ll refrain. I’m pretty certain, however, that any kind of sick is just really unpleasant in a variety of ways.

After a couple days of this, I was feeling really down. I didn’t have the energy to go anywhere, and I couldn’t do all the things I needed to do, much less wanted to do. My mom, a nurse, kicked me out of the kitchen and did all the cooking so it wouldn’t spread…smart on her part, but grouchy on mine.

And then. The doorbell rang, and she brought me this magnificent arrangement of flowers from a dear friend who is a florist. She knows these are my favorite colors and flowers and I was in utter and complete rapturous bliss. THEN! My mom walks in with mashed potatoes, gravy and peas…one of my favorite sick foods.

There I sat, in my bed, surrounded by such fabulousness…also representing love and care and support, and my heart soared…and my eyes watered…and all was well with the world again.

Thank you friend, flowers, water, Earth, Sun, Mom, Farmers, flower growers, agricultural suppliers, and everyone else who participated in bringing these gifts to me while I was sick.

I’m grateful.

